bing pixel
Cruise Nation Logo
0800 408 0757

Posted on: Wed, 22nd Jan 2014

A cruise is a great way to experience the Northern Lights this year. When visiting Norway, not only will you get the chance to view the enchanting Northern Lights, but you will see Norway's incredible unspoilt environment, its magnificent ancient glaciers, its picturesque snow-capped mountains and its traditional fishing villages, making the trip certainly one which you will never forget and cherish forever. Norway is famous for its Northern Lights. The spectacular light show is a once in a lifetime experience and will captivate you with its huge variety of enthralling colours pulsing through the night sky.

When to see the Northern Lights

If you want to see the Northern Lights, you should book your cruise between late Autumn and early Spring, around the 21st September - 21 March. This will give you the best chance of seeing the spectacular light show, as this is the time of year where it is dark for the longest amount of time. As Norway is the central area to where the Northern Lights display, on a clear night the chances of viewing the lights are close to 100%.

Where to see the Northern Lights

When it comes to viewing the Northern Lights, the further North you travel, the better chance you have of seeing the lights; however, the lights can be seen all over Norway. The key places to view the Northern Lights include the Lofoten Islands, the North Cape and Trosmo. Remember to wrap up warm when on the search for the Northern Lights.

Who to cruise with?

When visiting the Norwegian Fjords, there are many cruise lines to choose from, such as Holland America Line, Royal Caribbean International, P&O Cruises and Norwegian cruise line. All offer a wide range of options and activities, as well as a chance to explore Norway at many different port of calls.

Who long to go for?

To get the best chances of viewing the Northern Lights, it is recommended that you travel for more than 7 days, as some days may be cloudy and the cold could hinder your chances of viewing them. Cruises to Norway can range from 5 to 16 days, allowing for a lot of choice and flexibility. What do you think of this blog? Can you think of anymore tips on how to experience the Aurora Borealis this year? If so, please leave your comments below.

Article read 2251 times.

Latest Articles

Mon, 24th Aug 2015
Fri, 12th Jun 2015
Fri, 12th Dec 2014
Wed, 3rd Dec 2014
Mon, 1st Sep 2014
Tue, 19th Aug 2014
Thu, 5th Jun 2014
Wed, 4th Jun 2014
Wed, 28th May 2014
Thu, 17th Apr 2014
Wed, 2nd Apr 2014
Tue, 25th Mar 2014
Wed, 12th Mar 2014
Sat, 1st Feb 2014
Thu, 9th Jan 2014
Fri, 8th Nov 2013